Mother’s day gift from my mother.

I know what you are thinking. The title ideally should be, Mother’s day gift to my mother. But there is a reason why I am glad I received a gift rather than giving one. Read on.

Wikipedia defines reason of the celebration of Mother’s day as honoring the whole day for the person who has done more for you than anyone in the world, which is true.

First in fact, it got me thinking, why do we need a special day to honor all the mothers in the world? Don’t they deserve it everyday for putting up with our silly shenanigans and helping us spring back to our normal forms when we fall into pit of depression as a result of some emotionally disastrous decisions?

But I also thought how would we do it? In our busy life that we lead, we barely get time to talk to them. By talk, I mean, not the formal talk; a deep, meaningful conversation. Sometimes even you don’t have to talk. You just have to listen to them talk. That’s what I did today.

I called her up in the morning to wish her good morning and for Mother’s day as well. She didn’t pick up. Later after a while she called me up. The conversation I had with her today went on for 51 minutes.

I asked her what she wanted for Mother’s day. She refused to accept any kind of material gifts and just asked one thing.

“Just listen to what I say. That itself is enough.”

Sounds simple? Doesn’t it? But how many of us do that? Yes sure, she will happy with the material gifts you bought her. But the time you give her is the best gift there ever is. Your presence, just mere presence is just enough to make her day.

I haven’t gifted her that yet. The next time when I go home maybe? But today I received the best gift there ever is. This epiphany moment is what it is.

Happy Mother’s day to every mother who expect nothing from her child except some time for her. 🙂

~ Shruthi Jothsana ~

2 thoughts on “Mother’s day gift from my mother.”

Leave a Reply

