On looking back

I see I have grown,
Still growing
When I turn a few pages back
Of the finished chapters
In my life.

In my life,
I have made many mistakes
In all those chapters,
Which was a part of reason
For who I am now.

For who I’m now,
Is less important than
How I made this me now.
Mistakes, impulses, regrets
And people whom I wish I never met.

People whom I wish I never met
Were the ones who knew
What was it to be loved by me
With unconditional, unprecedented love.
I fought for them to stay.

I fought for them to stay,
Yet after their purposes were met,
They reached the exit door ,
Their chapters were over.
So many lessons in each chapter.

On looking back,
I realize, all the chapters had
Happy memories but
Sad endings,
But at the end of the book of my life,
I need a happy ending with
Many painful, lesson-preaching memories.

Because happy ending is
Worth all the shit.

~ © 2016 Shruthi Jothsana ~

Leave a Reply

